Steampunk Reading List

7a6374fa5f0b0fd7318e8b4aac2fbeebFinally, I have put together a list of books that I have come across along the way, during the course of my research. Many of these have been recommended to me by other readers/writers, who have enjoyed steampunk. Others, have been cited as being influential to the development of the genre. My final piece of writing focuses on just a small number of these, but I only wish that I had been given more space to explore all of these texts. This is certainly not an exhaustive list, but may provide you with a starting point for making your own explorations into this fantastic and remarkable genre of fiction. Enjoy…

 

Classic Influences
Charles Dickens, The Mudfog Papers (1837-8)
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, The Professor Challenger Series (1912-1928)
Robert Louis Stevenson, Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde (1886)
Jules Verne, Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (1870)
Jules Verne, Around the World in Eighty Days (1873)
H.G. Wells, The Time Machine (1895)
H.G. Wells, The War of the Worlds (1898)

Progenitors and early adopters of steampunk
James P. Blaylock, Homunculus (1986)
Paul Di Filippo, The Steampunk Trilogy (1995)
William Gibson & Bruce Sterlng, The Difference Engine (1990)
K.W. Jeter, Morlock Night (1979)
K.W. Jeter, Infernal Devices (1987)
Alan Moore, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (2000)
Michael Moorcock, The Warlord of the Air (1971)
Tim Powers, The Anubis Gates (1983)
Neil Stephenson, The Diamond Age (1995)
Martha Wells, The Death of the Necromancer (1998)

Modern examples
Tim Akers, Heart of Veridon (2009)
Paolo Bacigalupi, The Windup Girl (2009)
Pip Ballantine & Tee Morris, Phoenix Rising (2011)
Gail Carriger, Soulless (2009)
China Miéville, Perdido Street Station (2000)
China Miéville, The City & The City (2009)
Cherie Priest, Boneshaker (2009)
Philip Pullman, His Dark Materials (2001)
Philip Reeve, Mortal Engines (2001)
Lavie Tidar, The Bookman Histories (2012)
Jeff VanderMeer, Steampunk (2008)
Scott Westerfeld, The Leviathan Trilogy (2009)

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Research, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Steampunk Reading List

  1. I haven’t read them yet, but I am told Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Professor Challenger books fit the classic influence criteria. I have been building my list too 🙂 http://forwhomthegearturns.com/steampunk-book-list/

  2. joshnstanton says:

    I haven’t read them all either, Phoebe. I scored nine. Good list, and a couple I haven’t heard of too!

Leave a comment